The IEC 62443 standard offers your organizations guidance for improving the digital security and safety of OT/ICS/SCADA environments. The standard addresses the interests of all stakeholders (asset owners, system integrators and suppliers) and the contribution they can make to improving digital resilience. The framework of standards is visually represented below.

Normenkader IEC 62443

The IEC 62443 standard consists of four categories: ‘General’, ‘Policies & Procedures’, ‘System’ and ‘Component’:

IEC 62443 1-X: General
This category contains foundational information regarding concepts, models and terminology. These parts of the standard are used as basis for the other categories of the IEC 62443 standard; ‘Policies & Procedures’, ‘System’ and ‘Component’.

IEC 62443 2-X: Policies & Procedures
The ‘Policies & Procedures’ category is mostly aimed at ‘End Users’ & ‘Solution Providers’ and comprises the different aspects for creating and maintaining an effective Cyber Security Management System (CSMS).

IEC 62443 3-X: System
The parts of the standard in this category describes the technical requirements for system design and they provide guiding principles for the secure development and integration of systems. The focus of this category is on the ‘Solution Providers’ and at the center of this category is the zone and conduit model.

IEC 62443 4-X: Component
The last category contains all the technical guidelines for developing products, by ‘Manufacturers’ for example, to be used in the IACS environment. ‘System Integrators’ and ‘End Users’ can still make use of this category by taking the requirements in these standards as basis for selecting and purchasing safe components to be used in their systems.

In the spotlight

Monitoring your OT environment is essential. You know what is happening on your network and see to what extent you are compliant with various cyber security standards and laws and regulations.

IEC 62443 Standard

The IEC 62443 standard offers your organization tools to improve the digital security and safety of your IACS environment. Implementation of the standard improves the cybersecurity level of your organization's OT / ICS / SCADA environment.

The IEC 62443 is the international cybersecurity standards framework for operational technology (OT). The framework consists of a collection of standards, technical reports and related information for securing Industrial Automation and Control Systems (IACS).

read more

Hudson Cybertec’s IEC 62443 Competence Center has extensive experience with this standard. We play an active role in the development of the standard, actively promote it internationally and have developed a training program around the IEC 62443.

read more

It is becoming increasingly important for organizations to be able to demonstrate that the digital security of the OT environment is in accordance with standards frameworks. It is therefore possible to certify (parts of) your IACS environment according to IEC 62443.

read more

If you want to know more about this standard and need training on how to apply it within your own organization or at your clients, Hudson Cybertec has a number of very interesting training courses for you.

read more

The IEC 62443 standard provides organizations with tools to improve the digital security and safety of OT / ICS / SCADA environments.

read more

How digitally safe is your organization?

Curious about the possibilities? Please contact us!

Contact us


Sign up for our newsletter. We will keep you posted on the latest developments in our cybersecurity services.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.